Savannah Hotel Reviews for The Marshal House

What Guests are Saying About The Marshall House

Savannah Hotel Reviews

Wonderful People!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

"Wonderful people and very nice accommodations. We had a 2nd floor room with access to the porch. So much fun."
Reviewed by Robert B. on 9/16/17 via Google

Escaping Hurricane Irma!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Escaping St Simons Island, and then Atlanta, we moved to Savannah where we have been before.We got lucky and found Marshall House, built in 1851. It was a special treat...charming, great staff, reasonable prices, food from attached Bistro was very good!  Plus one night had a classical harpist play during cocktail hour with free food and wine!  It was very beautiful!
Reviewed by Carl G. on 9/15/17 via TripAdvisor

A beacon of calm in the storm!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My family and I evacuated from Florida on extremely short notice this past weekend due to Hurricane Irma. We ended up in Savannah, GA and reserved two rooms at the Marshall House. The hotel was an absolute delight! Hugh, the innkeeper, and all of the staff worked hard to make everyone feel welcome and safe. The hotel was populated by many hurricane evacuees that weekend. Our rooms were clean and well maintained. We had a king bed rooms, which had enough space for both sleeping and hanging out. This is a historical property and they've done an excellent job of retaining historical character while keeping it clean and comfortable. Some of the historical features include artwork, artifacts, original doors, and hardwood floors. They offered a very nice breakfast each morning for about $10/person, which included a buffet of waffles, quiche, eggs, homemade biscuits, bacon, pastries, cereals, fresh fruit, and lots more. It was very delicious and comforting! We also appreciated that they offered a free wine and cheese reception each evening, which was lovely. The supervisor of both the breakfast meal and wine reception, Arnita, was extremely kind and gracious. One of the evenings, the hotel offered a historical talk by Mike, who shared the history of the hotel itself and the city of Savannah. We enjoyed hearing about the hotel's historical roots (built in the 1850s!) and some of it's ghost stories. The location of Marshall House was very convenient; we easily walked the city squares and down to Bay Street and River Street. We were definitely impressed by both the building and the staff. The city of Savannah was largely boarded up the weekend we visited, due to the same hurricane that drove us to evacuate. But despite the threat of the storm, the staff of the Marshall House were absolutely incredible. We appreciated their kindness and care during this scary weekend.
Reviewed by Chrissie B. on 9/14/17 via TripAdvisor

We Absolutely, Absolutely Loved This Hotel!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

“Best hotel staff ever!!” We absolutely, absolutely loved this hotel!! Location was the best, very walkable to so many places. We had 2 rooms and stayed for 4 nights. The rooms were very clean & spacious. A little more counter space in the bathroom would have been nice, but then again I was skating the room with my 18 yo daughter & 25 yo niece. The hotel staff, however, is really what made this stay so enjoyable & why this hotel stands above & beyond many others. All of them were so genuinely friendly, helpful, and gladly went out of their way to assist you!! I have to say, I was extremely impressed! And just to throw in some context: I'm a 59 yo woman living in Long Island, but born & raised in New York City (aka, I'm not easily pleased, but I am easily ticked off)! I've done quite a bit of traveling for business & for pleasure: Rome, Venice, London, Paris, Nice, Madrid, Hawaii & other US states, etc. This hire staff truly made us (my daughter, sister, niece & 2 nephews) feel like family, like we were staying at a relative's home: housekeeping (Virginia & the young lady who serviced my room the very next morning after checking in (8/20). We weren't ready to leave the room yet and I was declining the service, but she offered us towels, soap, shampoo, etc & didn't mind there were still 3 women in the room, in her way! With a very warm smile she proceeded to assist us!! She also worked a second job as a waitress and, again, with a very warm smile and being very attentive to our needs. The valet service & bellman were incredible: Patrick & Bernard, from Philly - so helpful. Bernard with his warm & friendly smile, offering us complimentary bottles of water for our day out in the hot sun!! The front desk was also incredibly helpful. I asked if she knew where I can purchase an umbrella nearby and she proceeded to lend me one to use for the day - I was so impressed!! The wine & cheese hostess was also very friendly & attentive. I can go on & on. This hotel, without a doubt, knows the true definition of "hospitality"!!! Thank you for making our stay that much more enjoyable!! 
Reviewed by Maria R. on 8/30/17 via TripAdvisor

So Many Nice Things...

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 “We don't usually complete reviews because we think most are fake or written by someone with a bone to pick.” But, we have to say many nice things about this hotel and the staff. We have traveled to more than 100 countries and stayed in some hotels that cost ten times the rate at the Marshall, but we have never felt more welcomed than we did during our stay there. The afternoon staff told us they considered themselves the A Team, and they were, but the night shift and the early morning shifts were equally friendly, efficient, and downright nice. If your looking for genuine Southern hospitality, this is the place to stay. The hotel is charming and perfectly located in the heart of Old Savannah, with all the best restaurants within walking distance. 
Reviewed by Paul. T. on 8/29/17 via TripAdvisor

Cant wait to come back!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, our family was only traveling through Savannah, so we were only able to stay one night in this wonderful hotel. The hotel, centrally located in the heart of the downtown river district, is within easy walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and other specialty shops. The staff was extremely helpful and genuinely appeared excited that you were staying with them. The history of the area and general and more specifically the hotel were extremely interesting and the "ghost" twist added something for our teenage kids to ponder as they wandered the hotel and prepared to turn in for the evening. Although the amenities were modern, the feel of the hotel was early 1900's elegance. Both my family and I cannot wait until we return to the area and this hotel for a much longer stay. 
Reviewed by Dale D. on 7/09/17 via TripAdvisor

Anniversary and 4th of July Celebration

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place to stay. Wonderful staff and excellent location. Our second stay at The Marshall House, and it was just as good as the first. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Love the historic aspect of the hotel. 
Reviewed by KyleW1986 on 07/09/17 via TripAdvisor

Outstanding Piece of Living History

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My wife chose the Marshall House for our visit on a whim, and it has exceeded our expectations. The General Manager gave an excellent history of the hotel, as well as Savannah over wine and cheese with the guests. The rooms are fantastic, the staff is extremely friendly, and the fact that it's was functioning in the same capacity almost 200 years ago is incredible. If you want the typical, corporate hotel experience, the Marshall House is not for you. If you want to experience history while visiting Savannah, you'll be hard pressed to outdo the Marshall House. The charm and ambiance is unlike any lodging I've ever experienced. Highly, HIGHLY recommended. 
Reviewed by Mike B. on 07/08/17 via Google

Exceptional Service!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every single person on staff that i spoke to could not have been friendlier - Very Impressive!
Reviewed by Branham H. on 2/14/2017 via Guest review

Informative & Enjoyable

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We loved the wine/cheese event with the guest speaker. It was very informative and enjoyable. The front desk staff as well as the valetwere top notch! Our room was comfortable and cozy - I would recommend to anyone coming to Savannah for its historical nature.
Reviewed by Amanda M. on 2/13/2017 via Guest review

Lovely Accommodations

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lovely accommodations and extremely helpful and friendly staff.Breakfast excellent. Common area very much like home, comfortable,relaxing, functional and beautifully decorated.
Reviewed by Elizabeth P. on 1/19/2017 via Guest review

Guest Reviews 5 out of 5 based on 1000 reviews