Savannah Hotel Reviews for The Marshal House

What Guests are Saying About The Marshall House

Savannah Hotel Reviews

Cant wait to come back!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, our family was only traveling through Savannah, so we were only able to stay one night in this wonderful hotel. The hotel, centrally located in the heart of the downtown river district, is within easy walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and other specialty shops. The staff was extremely helpful and genuinely appeared excited that you were staying with them. The history of the area and general and more specifically the hotel were extremely interesting and the "ghost" twist added something for our teenage kids to ponder as they wandered the hotel and prepared to turn in for the evening. Although the amenities were modern, the feel of the hotel was early 1900's elegance. Both my family and I cannot wait until we return to the area and this hotel for a much longer stay. 
Reviewed by Dale D. on 7/09/17 via TripAdvisor

Anniversary and 4th of July Celebration

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great place to stay. Wonderful staff and excellent location. Our second stay at The Marshall House, and it was just as good as the first. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Love the historic aspect of the hotel. 
Reviewed by KyleW1986 on 07/09/17 via TripAdvisor

Outstanding Piece of Living History

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My wife chose the Marshall House for our visit on a whim, and it has exceeded our expectations. The General Manager gave an excellent history of the hotel, as well as Savannah over wine and cheese with the guests. The rooms are fantastic, the staff is extremely friendly, and the fact that it's was functioning in the same capacity almost 200 years ago is incredible. If you want the typical, corporate hotel experience, the Marshall House is not for you. If you want to experience history while visiting Savannah, you'll be hard pressed to outdo the Marshall House. The charm and ambiance is unlike any lodging I've ever experienced. Highly, HIGHLY recommended. 
Reviewed by Mike B. on 07/08/17 via Google

A+ Excellence!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

A+ Excellence, southern hospitality and charming trip back in time. My husband and I have booked numerous hotel-stays in the U.S. and abroad, but we both agree nothing compares to the experience and superb service we received at The Marshall House in the hub of Savannah’s historic district. The minute we arrived, we were welcomed and ensured a worry-free visit by an amazing hotel staff. As a civil war reenactor and author, the beautifully restored lobby and library, central staircase and wood plank hallways, lined with original portraits, prints, and notable memorabilia, were of particular interest. Our delightful 4th floor room with its tall ceiling, cozy period furnishings, fireplace and antique claw-foot tub, as well as modern amenities, guaranteed the best rest we can remember away from home. From the hotel concierge who went above and beyond to book a perfect dinner-out on a busy Valentine’s Day evening, to a complimentary wine and cheese reception and intriguing presentation on the American Civil War, Savannah and the prominent hotel’s history, to the unique opportunity to meet The Marshall House Innkeeper — we received personal, quality care that surpassed expectations. Thanks Marshall House! You will always be our place of choice. And, we are sure the original owner Mary Marshall, who built The Marshall House in 1851, is smiling down on you now, with pride and admiration, for her hotel is truly in loving hands.

Reviewed by Barbara & Bob Best, Jacksonville, FL on 02/13/2017 via Guest review

Exceptional Service!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every single person on staff that i spoke to could not have been friendlier - Very Impressive!
Reviewed by Branham H. on 2/14/2017 via Guest review

Informative & Enjoyable

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We loved the wine/cheese event with the guest speaker. It was very informative and enjoyable. The front desk staff as well as the valetwere top notch! Our room was comfortable and cozy - I would recommend to anyone coming to Savannah for its historical nature.
Reviewed by Amanda M. on 2/13/2017 via Guest review

Lovely Accommodations

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lovely accommodations and extremely helpful and friendly staff.Breakfast excellent. Common area very much like home, comfortable,relaxing, functional and beautifully decorated.
Reviewed by Elizabeth P. on 1/19/2017 via Guest review

Lovely Hotel...

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lovely hotel and charming staff; they made us feel very welcome. The wine and cheese event was great - we loved the historian. Great location for exploring the historic district.
Reviewed by Sandra S. on 11/25/2016 via Guest Survey

Above and Beyond...

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everyone who works here goes over and beyond. Always cheerful, helpful and makes you feel at home. Great Inn and this was my second time. My husband and I had been there last November. Stored out luggage until after the Veterans Day parade with no rush to leave right after the parade was over. Don't know if any rooms have hand bars in the showers but if they don't it would be a good idea to have them. It wouldn't take away the charm of the inn it would just be safer for some of your guests. Would definitely stay at the Marshall house again in the future. Love the Marshall House!
Reviewed by Mary W. on 11/14/2016 via Guest Survey

One of the Best Hotel Experiences...

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had! The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with incredible charm. The facilities are well cared for. The staff was beyond kind and hospitable and they helped with anything that we needed. I stayed there for the Rock & Roll Marathon and the hotel provided their own goodie bags for runners, which included bananas, water, gatorade, energy gels, and chapstick. I have never seen a hotel go above and beyond like this! The complimentary breakfast was wonderful! We loved the eggs and the quiche! I will recommend this hotel to everyone. Thanks for a wonderful stay! It is obvious that this hotel genuinely cares about their guests. Best customer service!
Reviewed by Kathrun Dierks on 11/13/2016 via Guest Survey

First Stay in Savannah

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was our first stay in Savannah and we will definitely return to the Marshall House. It was a beautiful piece of history and a clean and comfortable hotel. The valet and front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Reviewed by Jamie M. on 10/16/2016 via Guest Sirveu

Amazing Staff...

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff is amazing with delivering customer service and a gem of aproperty. If we come back to savannah again I would stay at the Marshall House and recommend it to others. I can't thank Hank in thebreakfast room enough for his genuine delivery of how speaks to the guests. He is a one of a kind find.
Reviewed by Michael D. on 10/07/2016 via Guest Comments

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Stay

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marshal House. This was a last minute impromptu trip, and could not be happier with choice of destination. The staff at the Marshal House are amazing, they make you feel welcome as soon as you step out of your car. We will DEFINITELY be visiting again!
Reviewed by Christopher K on 07/08/2016 via Guest Survey

Awesome old inn with a lot of history.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You feel like you're walking into a hotel from the 1890s. Sunday evening with wine and cheese a historian gave us the history on the Marshall house and its significance in Savannah. It is not to be missed. The staff exemplifies Southern hospitality. I will stay here again when I return.
Reviewed by Geoffrey B. on 9/26/2016 via Yelp

Anniversary Weekend

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My wife and I visited Marshall House for our anniversary this weekend.  We live just outside of Savannah but just wanted a night away.   When we checked in Kimberly was very friendly and asked why we were staying with them.  When we told her it was our anniversary she asked how many years and was pleasantly enthusiastic in wishing us a happy anniversary.  Checking in was smooth and easy and our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.  You can feel the history in the halls, on the stairways and in the rooms.  It's a beautiful building.  

We left the hotel to have a bite and a couple drinks nearby.  When we returned, there was a bottle of champagne chilling in an ice bucket with two engraved glasses and a bunch of balloons along with a card signed by a number of the hotel staff members.  It was a great surprise and exactly the kind of personal touch that would keep us coming back.  Nice work Marshall House!! :)
Reviewed by Steve P. on 9/25/2016 via Yelp

So Much Warmth and Hospitality

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

You have an absolutely beautiful hotel that had so much warmth and hospitality. The rooms were comfortable and the furniture, hard wood floors and linens made us feel at home. The staff was incredible and we will definitely recommend The Marshall House to any of our friends and family traveling to Savannah. Thank you!!
Reviewed by Lori B on 06/24/2016 via Guest Survey

Can't Wait to Come Back

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I can't wait to come back. My family normally stays with Marriot because we have family that work for the brand and we get great discounts, so it was nice to get outside of that and see what else Savannah has to offer and we will be back.
Reviewed by Scott D on 06/23/2016 via Guest Survey

We'll be back

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff is wonderfully helpful and nice. We are so thankful for the wonderful anniversary surprise from the staff. We will definitely be back and will recommend the Marshall House to anyone considering visiting Savannah.
Reviewed by Rick F on 06/14/2017 via Guest Survey

First Class!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Our Anniversary trip and the entire experience was wonderful!!! We will definitely be back. The entire experience was first class!!
Reviewed by Chris O on 05/30/2016 via Guest Survey

A Wonderful Stay

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Surprise champagne and card congratulating us on our 20th Wedding Anniversary was the "icing on the cake" for a wonderful stay. The staff treated us as if we were the only guests they had. Our next stay in Savannah will be at The Marshall House.

Reviewed by Art D on 05/15/2016 via Guest Survey

Best Place in Savannah

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

LOVE this hotel. Ideal location, close to restaurants, shops and pubs, and 3 blocks off River Street. Great hotel, best place to stay in Savannah :)
Reviewed by Elaine B on 05/07/2016 via G

An Exceptional Stay

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We had an exceptional stay at the Marshall House. We enjoyed the room, the ambiance, and the attention of the staff. To see the manager of the hotel totally invested in every activity was refreshing. The afternoon wine and cheese was a highlight...as was the Savannah historian who spoke during our stay. We certainly will return to the Marshall House!
Reviewed by Stanley O on 04/26/2016 via Guest Survey